April: a month of Sundays to clean house

I’ll admit that I just might be stretching things a bit.  Using a word that immediately brings to mind a person (or persons) tasked with work that deals with the scruffy and sometimes unpleasant.

But hear me out.

It is honorable and dignified work.  All over the world, “we the people” depend on this activity to promote cleanliness and good health – to put a shine and sparkle to our surroundings.  I have come to appreciate the month of April in this manner.  Remember these famous phrases: “April Showers bring May Flowers.”  “Truer words have never been spoken.”  Notice how they complement each other – speak the truth of each.  Who comes up with this stuff?  I guess I’ll have to do a “DuckDuckGo” search and see how these famous phrases came to be.

But I digress.

I know I am not alone remembering and thinking about April’s rain sweeping away winter’s dregs and grime – rinsing the streets, houses, cleaning the air we breathe – and God’s green earth of grit, slime, and general disgusting things left behind from the cold, dreary brrrr-days of winter that always last way too long for its own good.  That’s April: coming to our rescue in the da – nah….nick of time, and bringing those beautiful flowers to boot.  My goodness, let’s not forget the sunshine and a bit of warmth (depending on where one lives) to welcome this annual month of cleansing given to us free of charge.

Can I get an Amen?

So I am dusting off my soap box to sing (well, to write actually) about a few of the pains and praises of April (“How many ways do I love you, let me count the ways” – thank you, Miss Browning.)  The first thing I like about April is the love-hate relationship I have with its very first day.  Hail!  Hail!  Its April Fool’s Day – dedicated to jokers and their jokes and us poor souls who bear the brunt of them. I am sure I hold this day in such disdain because I can never pull off a proper and spectacular April Fool’s joke on anyone.  Not even our cat – Miss Lucy.  She will have none of it.  On the other hand, I tend to fall for every corny incident ever invented for this horrid day.  I never see them coming.  I know, I know – that says something about me.  Now you know why I try and ignore this whole inglorius and asinine day.

Moving right along.

I love the rains of April: drizzles, soft sprinkles, windows crying raindrops, down pours and deluges.  Are thunderstorms the same as deluges?  Another DuckDuckGo search is in order.  Anyway, I am the first to admit that I am not happy about some of the heavy-duty weather a few of these rainy days deliver to us.  But hey, I got no say in the matter.  Way, way above my pay grade.  That said, April’s “right as rain” sets the stage for beauty to blossom in its many forms.  I am overjoyed with its invitation to the young ( and those young at heart) to go dancing and frolicking in its cleansing nectar.

And then there is April’s promise of love: new love, renewal of love, love lost and found – alas, forbidden love.  April opens the door to them all.  For me, it is a re-affirmation of a profoundly deep and heart-felt love.  I celebrate a wedding anniversary with the love of my life.  Long live April!

But doggonit, for some of us it’s also time to pay the piper: “…to render unto Caesar what is Caesar’s.”  Sad to say, April brings the tax collector.  Drat!  But those famous words brings to those faithful who savor the month of April because it celebrates the most Holy of Holies: love from on High, Grace, Redemption, and the Resurrection.  April delivers!  April’s trumpets and bugle’s blare the Glory of it all!  April’s drums thunder and roll and roil the heavens!  April, by God!  Wonderful April. What’s not to love about it?

Well, there is one minor thing: April is one of those short months. Five of them to be exact. Maybe this is so we don’t get too used to its promises of delightful things – the future it offers.  It leaves us something to look forward to next April.  I don’t know about you, but I am okay with that.  After all, May having an extra day to dazzle us with her beautiful flowers is heaven sent.

Praise be.

Copyright (c) 2015 3mediaCommunications. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.  Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to 3media Commuications with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 thoughts on “April: a month of Sundays to clean house

  1. Daleen

    A very happy anniversary to you and your dearest (on whichever day of this multifaceted month it may fall) You make April sound so glorious and exciting, but over here it brings cold weather and bare trees. At least I do not have to ‘spring clean’ again until September! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Ad Dawg Post author

    Thank you for your good wishes for our anniversary. Sometimes, it is cold, rainy and bare trees here….Chicago was like that when I lived there.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

